SLC Book Boy

the storytime ventures of a children's librarian

Food Storytime

on January 2, 2012

Opening: Shake My Sillies out – Raffi

Book:Burger Boy – Alan Durant

 

(This is a book I’ve wanted to share since before I was hired for storytimes. So glad I finally could!)

Shadow play: from Hungry Hen by Richard Waring

 

(Borrowed from a fellow librarian. Told the story using a projector and transparencies, with chicken and fox shadow puppets)

Book: Gobble Gobble, Slip Slip – Meilo So

 

(I love having the opportunity to bring in other cultures, this is a new favorite.)

Song: I’m Hungry! (see at end)

(variant of the song from the CD Road Trip by Hullaballo)

Book: The Very Hungry Caterpillar – Eric Carle

 

(The kids were excited to see this in the lineup, they all love it already!)

Activity: The Greedy Python by Eric Carle (see at end)

 (I acted this out rather than reading the story. I had a green tube scarf on hand with a lot of stretch that I added eyes and a tongue to for the python. Changed some of the animals from the original to match what I had to stuff inside it. The kids got excited when all the animals were coughed up…and it took a little effort to get their attention back for the ending.)

Book: Me Hungry – Jeremy Tankard

 

(So simple and engaging. Defiantly a book you want to establish voices for [there is just the boy, the dad and the mom].)

Activity: My Name is Joe (see at end)

The Parts:

I’m Hungry

I’m hungry, I’m hungry, I want something to eat.

Wait, never mind I found a raisin in my seat!

I found a raisin in my seat, I found a raisin in my seat.

Wait, never mind I found a raisin in my seat!

(Pantomime eating the item. Then repeat with pretzel, cracker, peanut, cookie, and earthworm! I had a group shout out ‘Don’t eat it!’ when I got to the earthworm…so it ended up back in the seat that day. I also had the kids identify each item as I pulled it out. I used real food, and a rubber earthworm.)

The Greedy Python by Eric Carle

-Half hidden in the jungle green

The biggest snake there’s ever been

Wound back and forth an in between

-The giant snake was very strong

And very, very, very long.

He had a monstrous appetite.

His stomach stretched from left to right.

-He quickly gobbled in one bite

Whatever creatures came in sight:

A mouse that scampered to and fro,

A frog that jumped from up below,

A fish that swam a bit too slow,

A bird that flew a bit too low,

-A tortoise resting half asleep,

A monkey who was in mid-leap,

-An elephant, complete with trunk,

Was swallowed in a single chunk.

“I’m far too big to eat!” he cried.

“Oh, no you’re not!” the snake replied.

-At last the python’s meal was done

And he lay resting in the sun.

The animals inside his skin

Were making quite a dreadful din;

-And when they all began to kick,

The snake began to feel quite sick.

-He coughed the whole lot up again—

Each one of them—then coughed again.

-He soon felt better, and what’s more

Was hungrier than just before.

He hadn’t learned a single thing:

His greed was quite astonishing.

He saw his own tail, long and curved,

And thought that lunch was being served.

-He closed his jaws on his own rear

Then swallowed hard…and disappeared!

My Name is Joe adapted by Paul Musser

Hello, my name is Joe, and I work in a pizza factory.

I have a wife, a dog, and three kids.

One day, the chef said to me:

“Hey Joe, can you stir some sauce with your right hand?”

I said “Sure!” (pantomime action, and build with following)

Hello, my name is Joe, and I work in a pizza factory.

I have a wife, a dog, and three kids.

One day, the chef said to me:

“Hey Joe, can you chop some vegetables with your left hand?”

I said “Sure!” (pantomime action)

Hello, my name is Joe, and I work in a pizza factory.

I have a wife, a dog, and three kids.

One day, the chef said to me:

“Hey Joe, can you open the garbage can with your right foot?”

I said “Sure!” (pantomime action)

Hello, my name is Joe, and I work in a pizza factory.

I have a wife, a dog, and three kids.

One day, the chef said to me:

“Hey Joe, can you hold open the door with your left foot?”

I said “Sure!” (pantomime action)

Hello, my name is Joe, and I work in a pizza factory.

I have a wife, a dog, and three kids.

One day, the chef said to me:

“Hey Joe, can you lick some stamps with your tongue?”

I said “Sure!” (pantomime action, kids love the garbled talking while licking!)

Hello, my name is Joe, and I work in a pizza factory.

I have a wife, a dog, and three kids.

One day, the chef said to me:

“Hey Joe, are you busy right not?”

and I said “Yeah, I’m kinda busy.”

Leave a Reply

