SLC Book Boy

the storytime ventures of a children's librarian

Dancing Storytime

on September 4, 2012

Opening: Shake My Sillies Out – Raffi

Book: Baby Danced the Polka – Karen Beaumont

 

(This was well received, better than I’d hoped actually!)

Puppets: Down by the Cool of the Pool – from the book by Tony Mitton

Frog is dancing by the pool ‘Wheee! Can you dance like me?’. ‘No’, said Duck, ‘But I can flap!’. So Duck went Flap and frog went  ‘Wheee! Can you dance like me?’ down by the cool of the pool.

(I just continued building on this format until I had Dog rolling over, Pig wiggling, sheep stamping, cat twirling, duck flapping and frog jumping. I used critters I had on hand and matched actions I could make them do, staying with the story where possible. It was pretty fun!)

Book: Dancing Feet – Lindsey Craig

(A fun simple guessing game book, with great illustrations)

Activity: Silly Dance Contest – from the CD The Sneezing Song and Other Contagious Tune by Jim Gill

 (You know a song went over well when a parent asks where to find it afterwards!)

Book: Hilda Must Be Dancing – Karma Wilson

(So adorable and sweet and visually stunning. Everyone gets a happy ending!)

Activity: Five Ballet Dancers

 Five Ballet Dancers,

Balance on their toes.

Twist and twirl and leap,

then off the stage one goes!

(I’m not sure if the kids were disinterested, or enthralled by these paper dancers, but no one sang along! I’m going to pretend it was enthralled) =P

Book: Farmyard Beat – Lindsey Craig

(A fun book with great opportunity for interaction. My only complaint is that kids understand cows going Moo rather than Swish, clank.) -.o

Activity: Streamers with music

I played the awesome Miss Opotomus from the Purple Ladybug music album. Everyone had a super time. Even the girl who was shy at the beginning was flailing about with her streamers. =]

Leave a Reply

