SLC Book Boy

the storytime ventures of a children's librarian

Magic Storytime

on January 23, 2012

Opening: Shake My Sillies Out – Raffi

Book: Magic Box – Kate Cleminson

 

(Fun, simple story with awesome illustrations.)

Activity: Magic Hat (see at end)

 (Trying to pull a rabbit out of a hat, but different animals keep coming out instead! I used a monkey, a giraffe, a mouse, and a chicken before the rabbit finally appeared…and I had the kids help of the final chant to make sure it would work!)

Book: The Wizard the Fairy and the Magic Chicken – Helen Lester

(This is a cute story, but runs just a little long. The kids weren’t as engaged as I expected.)

Activity: “Poof” You’re a… (see at end)

 (Use a wand to ‘transform’ the kids into different things. I found Kangaroo to be popular, and of course changed them back to kids for the next story!)

Book: Sausages – Jessica Souhami

 

(I think this is a charming version of the classic tale. It’s great that the couple ends up still happy.)

Puppets: Anansi and the Moss Covered Rock

 (A traditional tale, I used the Kimell version as my basis. Had a prop rock, puppets for Anansi, Lion, Elephant and Bush Deer. I also had pics of the food Anansi stole for the flannelboard [the top of which I use for the stage].)

Book: Anton Can Do Magic – Ole Konnecke

 

(It’s nice when a new book comes in and you think ‘I know just what to use that for!’.)

Activity: Wand Craft

(Different colored popsicle sticks, with cut out stars to attach and glitter glue to decorate!)

The Parts:

(MAGIC) – “Hat Trick” by Deanna Romriell.  (Use a top hat/rabbit puppet along with a selection of other animals to perform this rhyme.)

Magic!  Magic!  In my hat,

I’ll pull out a rabbit –

Aaaaaa!!  What is that?!!

(Pull anything other than a rabbit out and repeat.)

Magic!  Magic!  In my hat,

I’ll pull out a rabbit –

 See!!  Look at that!!

‘Poof!’

“Abracadabra, poof!  You’re a _____________!”  (Some of the things to turn the children into could included a duck, ogre, bear, tree, monkey, frog, fire engine and rock.  And of course, the kids had to act like that thing).


4 responses to “Magic Storytime

  1. […] Rhyme & Puppets: “Hat Trick” Magic, magic, in my hat! I’ll pull out a rabbit – (pull anything other than a rabbit) Ahhhh! What is that?! (repeat until ready for the rabbit) Magic, magic, in my hat! I’ll pull out a rabbit – See! Look at that! Credit: SLC Book Boy […]

  2. […] I started by pulling out my black top hat which had been prepped ahead of time with small finger puppets.  At the bottom of the pile was a rabbit.  I closed my eyes, waved my hands over the hat, and chanted “Magic, magic in my hat, I’ll pull out a rabbit and…(pull out anything other than the rabbit) Aahh! What’s that?!”  I repeated the process until I got to the rabbit at last, pulling it out and saying “Well, look at that!”  This was a great success, with lots of giggles and kids shouting out what I had pulled out instead of a rabbit.  The raccoon I pulled out did throw them for a loop, however. (Credit: SLC book boy) […]

  3. […] Magic, magic, in my hat! I’ll pull out a rabbit – (pull anything other than a rabbit) Ahhhh! What is that?! (repeat until ready for the rabbit) Magic, magic, in my hat! I’ll pull out a rabbit – See! Look at that! Credit: SLC Book Boy […]

  4. Dior says:

    This is helpful

Leave a comment